My Journal: June 28th 2022 – Enjoying The Moments

As I write this at the end of my night, I am being spoiled with the sounds of my children and their cousin, who is here from Baltimore, laughing and having a good time playing Mario Kart on the Nintendo Switch.

And it’s this moment that brings me to the journal today, a moment that I appreciate so very much. Seeing my children and my sister’s children (or child in this particular instance) is just one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen. It means so very much to me because our kids are miles apart and this is actually their first time meeting. My sisters and I are very close, well I mean I am close with all of my siblings honestly, and so I wanted that same thing for our families once we all got older and started having families but life didn’t have that in the cards for us.

We, like so many people, are living some distance from one another, primarily because I moved to GA. As I mentioned before and in the words of TI, I moved away to make a way, but that came at a great toll and sacrifice which was me having to not be around the ones I love. So when we have these types of moments and opportunities like the one that was presented when we found out my nephew’s baseball team would have a tournament in Metro Atlanta, we jump on them and make the most of them.

My baby sister and nephew have been here for a few days now and I am loving each and every minute of it. Biggest thing though is the kids connecting and getting to know one another. One of the worst parts about living here is that my kids don’t know their family like that but they have some of the best family ever. I always stress to them how loved they are, how they will never be alone because they have so many people out there that love and care for them but it’s hard to convey that at times because unfortunately they don’t get to physically see folks too often. Them being able to spend time with a cousin of theirs is so major to me because I want them to know about their cousins, their Aunts and Uncles that live further away. God forbid something ever happen to me and my wife, I just want my kids to know they have plenty of love and caring out here to look over them.

The kids have been having a ball playing games together and all that, shoot its almost 1 in the morning now and then last night they were up until around 2 in the morn, so they been getting it in and having fun. I told both of my sisters that this is just the first of many connects/collabos between our families. Now that I am beginning to climb up on the money side of things, I should be able to readily make regular trips up top to see the fam in B-more, Jersey, etc. I want to try to slide up top at LEAST once a year, so hopefully I can make that happen moving forward.

I love the fact that I also get to spend time with my nephew who is growing up to be a fine young man. He’s such a great kid and I’m so pleased to have him as one of my many nephews lol. I can’t wait until we can make that trip to Baltimore and be with my other sister, nephews, niece and my brother-in-laws. Distance has kept us from many times together but we are about close the gap on that and make up for some of this lost time. But it’s now like 1 in the morning and I have to get up in like 4 hours to get ready for work and I KNOW imma be a zombie up in there tomorrow…so ✌🏾 ❤️

Leave a comment